Tenancy Setup & Management
The best tenant referencing services for UK landlords in 2026

The best tenant referencing service for a self-managing landlord in 2026 is Goodlord, bought through the NRLA at £23.40 per full reference for members, because it returns an insurable decision with Open Banking and HMRC income verification in an average of 26 hours. The cheapest published full reference is Oops Insurance at £14.99; the cheapest credit-only check is RentFig at £9. HomeLet, Let Alliance and Rent4sure only sell through letting agents, so a landlord who advertises privately cannot buy them direct. This guide compares nine services on price, checks included, turnaround, insurability and how you buy, with every price shown including VAT as checked on 5 September 2026. Provider prices change without notice.
The six checks a full reference should contain are set out in our tenant referencing guide. This article assumes you know what you are buying and helps you choose who to buy it from.
Which service suits which landlord
Your situation | Choose | Why |
|---|---|---|
One or two properties, referencing every few years | RentFig, Oops Insurance | Pay per check, no account or subscription |
NRLA member | NRLA Tenant Referencing (Goodlord) | Member price, insurable, fast |
Advertising on OpenRent | OpenRent | £30, integrated with the listing and Rent Now |
Want an insurable reference for rent guarantee cover | Goodlord, HomeLet, Let Alliance, Rent4sure | Insurers accept their decisions |
Applicants with thin credit files, students, first-time renters | Canopy | Open Banking affordability, portable profile |
HMO with several applicants at once | Goodlord, Canopy | Bulk handling and guarantor referencing |
Letting through an agent | Whichever the agent uses, usually Goodlord, HomeLet or Rent4sure | Bundled into the agent's fee |
What we compared
We assessed each provider on six criteria: the published price of a full reference including VAT, what that price includes, whether a landlord can buy direct or only through a letting agent, average turnaround, whether the decision is insurable for rent guarantee purposes, and whether the provider collects Right to Rent documents. We did not rank on brand size. Several providers collect Right to Rent documents but none can perform the check for you; our Right to Rent guide explains who carries the liability.
The nine services compared
Provider | Full reference (inc. VAT) | Credit-only | Buy direct? | Turnaround | Insurable | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Goodlord (incl. Vouch) | Not published direct; via NRLA £23.40 member / £40.20 non-member | No | Via NRLA or an agent | 26 hours average, one in three instant | Yes | Best overall |
NRLA Tenant Referencing | £23.40 member / £40.20 non-member; Priority £36 / £50.40 | No | Yes (free guest account) | 26 hours average | Yes | NRLA members |
OpenRent | £30 | No | Yes | Initial report within 24 hours | Yes, for OpenRent's own RGI | Landlords advertising on OpenRent |
Canopy | Not published; quote on application | Free pre-qualification tier | Agent-facing, landlord by request | Not published | Yes | Thin-file applicants, portable profile |
HomeLet | Not published | No | Agents only | Not published | Yes | Agent-managed lets with HomeLet RGI |
Let Alliance | Not published | No | Agents only | Same-day product available | Yes | Agent-managed lets |
Rent4sure | Not published | No | Agents only | Not published | Yes | Agent-managed lets |
Oops Insurance | £14.99 | £9.99 | Yes | Not published | Not stated | Cheapest published full reference |
RentFig | £19 (£17 with free account) | £9 | Yes, no account needed | Credit in minutes, full within 48 hours | Not stated | Cheapest credit check, occasional use |
Prices as published on 5 September 2026, inclusive of VAT. Residential lettings are VAT-exempt, so the inclusive figure is what leaves your account. Where a provider publishes no price, the table says so rather than guessing; market guides put agent-quoted references at £20 to £40 per applicant.
Every provider returns a report you are obliged to keep, for the tenancy plus one year for Right to Rent copies and six years for financial records under UK GDPR. August's document management stores the report, the consent form and the decision against the tenancy so the file exists if a rejected applicant later asks why.
1. Goodlord (including Vouch): best overall
Goodlord is the largest referencing provider in the UK lettings market and absorbed Vouch in 2025, so the two are now one service. Its full reference combines a credit check, instant identity document authentication, Open Banking and HMRC income verification, previous landlord and employer references, a PEPs and sanctions check and a fully insurable decision, and it returns an average reference in 26 hours with one in three completed instantly. Goodlord does not publish a landlord-direct price; it sells through letting agents, and to private landlords through the NRLA partnership below.
2. NRLA Tenant Referencing: best for members
The NRLA's referencing service is Goodlord's product at a member price of £23.40 for a full tenant or guarantor reference and £36 for a priority reference, with non-members paying £40.20 and £50.40. A free guest account is enough to buy. For a landlord who references more than two applicants a year, the member price alone covers a good part of the annual subscription. The NRLA also publishes an older referencing page with different prices; the Goodlord-powered page is the current one.
3. OpenRent: best if you advertise on OpenRent
OpenRent charges £30 per reference, covering credit and risk score, identity and fraud checks, CCJs, Right to Rent guidance within 24 hours and then previous landlord and employer checks in the final report. It is the obvious choice if the applicant came through an OpenRent listing, and the reference feeds straight into OpenRent's Rent Now contract and its own rent guarantee product. It is not the cheapest standalone option, and it is single-tier. OpenRent also appears in our list of websites to advertise your rental property.
4. Canopy: best for thin credit files and portable profiles
Canopy's RentPassport is a portable tenant screening report the applicant builds once, with income verified through Open Banking and a credit score from Experian, and reuses for every property. For the landlord, the Essential, Comprehensive and Priority tiers verify that profile to reference standard, with Comprehensive adding employer and landlord verification. Canopy publishes no per-reference price and its sign-up is agent-facing, so a private landlord has to ask. It is strongest for students, first-time renters and self-employed applicants whose credit file understates their affordability. Canopy's tenant app is reviewed alongside five others in our best tenant apps roundup.
5. HomeLet: best for agent-managed lets with rent guarantee
HomeLet's VISTA reference, built with Experian, is one of the most widely accepted insurable references in the market, and HomeLet sells landlord and rent guarantee insurance alongside it. Its own site states that referencing is available to letting agents who work in partnership with HomeLet and points individual landlords to its insurance team, so it is not a landlord-direct product. HomeLet and Let Alliance are both trading names of Barbon Insurance Group, part of PIB Group, so they are one business with two brands.
6. Let Alliance: best for same-day agent referencing
Let Alliance sells the same VISTA product as HomeLet plus a Same Day Referencing service built with TransUnion, which uses the credit file and Open Banking income verification to return a decision within the day. References are valid for 60 days. Like HomeLet it is agent-facing, with no landlord-direct route.
7. Rent4sure: best for agents bundling referencing with insurance
Rent4sure is a long-established agent-facing referencing and insurance provider whose references are accepted by the major rent guarantee insurers. It publishes no landlord-direct price and sells through letting agents, so it belongs on this list for landlords deciding whether an agent's package is worth paying for rather than as a service to buy yourself.
8. Oops Insurance: cheapest published full reference
Oops Insurance lists a £9.99 credit tier covering identity, credit history, Right to Rent status and anti-money-laundering checks, and a £14.99 full reference adding employment and income confirmation and landlord references. That makes it the cheapest published full reference from a landlord-direct provider. Its page advertises checks "from £5" but no £5 product is listed, it does not state whether prices include VAT, and it does not state whether its decision is insurable, so check both before relying on it for a rent guarantee policy.
9. RentFig: cheapest credit check, no account needed
RentFig charges £9 for a credit check, usually returned in minutes, and £19 for a full reference covering identity, credit, income and affordability, employer and previous landlord references, Right to Rent and anti-fraud, usually within 48 hours. It publishes a free application form that collects the applicant's details and consent before you pay for anything, and it needs no account or subscription. A free account takes the full reference to £17. RentFig is not VAT-registered, so those are the final prices. Whether its decision is insurable is not stated.
What tenant referencing costs in 2026
A full tenant reference costs between £14.99 and £40.20 from providers that publish a price, and £20 to £40 per applicant when quoted through a letting agent. A credit-only check costs £9 to £20. The landlord pays in every case, because the Tenant Fees Act 2019 prohibits charging a tenant for referencing, credit checks or administration, with a penalty of up to £5,000 for a first breach. Wales has an equivalent ban under the Renting Homes (Fees etc.) (Wales) Act 2019.
A credit-only check confirms identity and pulls adverse credit data; our guide to credit checking a tenant explains consent and what a soft search shows. The cheapest sound workflow for a landlord who references occasionally is a credit-only check on every serious applicant, then a full reference only on the one you intend to proceed with. Turnaround depends on referees more than providers; how long tenant referencing takes explains what causes delays.
When to pay for a service and when to do it yourself
Paying for a service earns its cost once you need an insurable decision, once you reference more than a handful of applicants a year, or once fraud risk is high, which in practice means any competitive market. Doing it yourself works for one or two properties: the credit report is the only part you cannot obtain free, and you can phone the employer and the previous landlord yourself. What you lose is fraud detection, because a service verifies that the referee owns the property and that the payslip matches HMRC data, and a private landlord rarely can.
Across the tenancies set up on August, the landlords who regret a referencing decision are almost never the ones who paid too little; they are the ones who accepted a landlord reference from a number the applicant supplied. Whichever route you take, a pre-tenancy assessment is only as good as its weakest referee.
Insurable references and rent guarantee cover
An insurable reference is one whose pass decision a rent guarantee insurer will accept as meeting its referencing condition. Goodlord, NRLA, HomeLet, Let Alliance, Rent4sure and OpenRent (for its own product) state that their decisions are insurable; Oops Insurance and RentFig do not state it. If you want the reference to underpin a rent guarantee policy, choose an insurable product; our comparison of rent guarantee insurance providers shows which insurers accept which references. A claim rejected for an unreferenced or under-referenced tenant is the most common reason rent guarantee policies fail to pay.
Referencing guarantors and multiple applicants
Reference the guarantor to the same standard as the tenant, and expect to pay the same price: every provider above charges the full reference fee for a guarantor. For HMOs and joint tenancies, Goodlord and Canopy handle multiple applicants on one application; pay-per-check providers charge per person. Run the rent-to-income calculator before you pay for a reference on a household whose combined income is borderline.
What the Renters' Rights Act changed
Since 1 May 2026 the referencing decision is the main risk control a landlord holds, because Section 21 has gone and removing a tenant requires a Section 8 ground. The Act also bans rental bidding, caps rent in advance at one month and makes it unlawful to reject applicants because they receive benefits or have children; part one of our Renters' Rights hub covers the pre-tenancy rules in full. Two consequences for choosing a provider: you can no longer offset a weak reference with several months' rent upfront, so a provider that references guarantors well matters more; and a referencing decision must be applied identically to every applicant, so write your affordability criteria down. Our rent affordability entry sets out the common benchmarks.
After the reference
A pass is the start of the evidence trail, not the end of it. From the first rent day, August's Open Banking rent trackingrecords every payment as it lands, which is the rental history the tenant's next landlord will ask for and the arrears record an insurer will ask for.
Frequently asked questions
Which tenant referencing company is best for a private landlord?
Goodlord, bought through the NRLA at £23.40 per full reference for members, offers the best combination of depth, speed and insurability for a private landlord. For occasional use with no account, RentFig at £19 or Oops Insurance at £14.99 are the cheapest published full references, and RentFig's £9 credit check is the cheapest first filter.
How much does tenant referencing cost?
Between £14.99 and £40.20 per full reference from providers that publish prices, including VAT, and £20 to £40 per applicant through a letting agent. Credit-only checks cost £9 to £20. The landlord pays; charging the tenant is a banned fee under the Tenant Fees Act 2019.
Can I reference a tenant myself?
Yes. You can phone the employer and previous landlord, verify identity from original documents and buy a credit report. What you cannot easily replicate is fraud detection, verification that the referee owns the property, and an insurable decision, which is why most landlords with more than one or two properties pay for a service.
Do I need August to reference a tenant?
No. You need a provider from the list above and the paperwork to keep afterwards. August stores the report, consent and decision against the tenancy and records the rent from day one. You can start for free.
This article is general information, not legal or financial advice. Provider prices and services change; confirm with the provider before buying.

Author
August Team
The August editorial team lives and breathes rental property. They work closely with a panel of experienced landlords and industry partners across the UK, turning real-world portfolio and tenancy experience into clear, practical guidance for landlords.




